top of page

Looking back on Week 2

I can't believe I'm almost halfway through my third week here. Time is going way too quickly (PANIC). Last week I had the opportunity to tour the Museo del Prado y Reina Sofia. Prado is more classical art, and the more modern art of the Reina Sofia is more my style, but it was mind blowing to see all of the symbolism that goes into these works of art. When I draw a picture, I draw a picture. I don't think about how the shape of my forearm represents my troubled childhood and lack of a father figure (that's not true, love you, Pops!).

We took a trip to Casa de Campo, the biggest park in the city, and I knew we'd have to make a second trip. It felt like we had taken a train to Africa, with plains of nothing but trees and dirt. There's a zoo and an amusement park in the park, but we just went for a trek through the woods.

On Friday, we had our weekly test, and it was no piece of cake. We went across the street to the cheap tapas and beer place to grab a few, then went to el Tigre (5 euros for a large beer and a huge plate of food x5 girls= way too much food), then to a rooftop bar at Mercado San Anton, and finally settled to relax in my favorite park Retiro. We ran back home to eat dinner and then met everyone back at El Tigre around 10:30pm for a few more drinks. We all played a huge game, with the participation of a French bachelor party, ate way too much food, and I still made it to my slightly comfy bed by 1am. Ya girl loves her sleep.

Saturday, we explored el Escorial y Valle de los Caidos- both ancient religious monuments around Madrid. El Escorial is the palace of the old kings, and Valle de los Caidos is the controversial burial site of Franciso Franco that is dedicated to the fallen of the Spanish Civil War. The largest cross in the world was incredible to see and gave us a view of Spain that can't be matched.

Finally, on Sunday, Shelby, Maggie, Abby, Erica and I made the hour-long train ride to Alcala de Henares, the birthplace of Miguel Cervantes, author of Don Quixote. The village was what you picture Spain to be- small town, quiet roads, ancient buildings, and tapas on tapas. It was a great way to spend our day and get away from the madness of the city for awhile. After dinner, Shelby and I met up with Abby and Erica to watch the Real Madrid game at a small bar near us. After the big win, the first of this importance since 2011 (I'm not an aficionado yet, but I'm learning), we made the choice to try to get to the Banco de Espana to watch the team jump into the fountain. Now, the game was in Italy, so we knew it would be 2 or 3 am before they arrived, but we wanted to see all the hustle and bustle. We may have only lasted until 12am, but it was worth it to see hundreds on hundreds of passionate fans revel in the victory of their favorite team. Futbol= religion en Espana.

To say that I'm thriving in Spain would be an understatement. I love getting an opportunity to see something new and exciting every single day. With only 3.5 weeks yet, I hope to see it all! Shelby and I have booked flights to Dublin and London for the final two weekends, which means that this is my final weekend in Spain! Can't believe how fast the time is going, but I'm going to try to make the most of every minute!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page