top of page

So long, Week 3

I thought I'd be blogging twice a week, but every time I log on here, I realize a week has already passed! I am utterly SHOCKED that it's been 3 weeks and I'm halfway through. I've actually made the effort to start speaking in class and I think my Spanish is improving poco a poco.

On Monday, we packed our tennis shoes in our book bags and went right after class (and some freaking tasty Indian food) to Parque de Debod, where we mounted the cable cars and took a ride from one park to another. WHAT A VIEW! The cartoony-Vanellope Von Schweetz-wanna-be-voice over was a tad irritating, but the experience overall was so worth it. Then we popped on our hiking shoes and took off across Madrid's biggest park, Casa de Campo. We ended up going straight through the middle to the opposite side and back- it was about a two hour hike, and it was really cool. At one point, it felt like we stepped foot into Snow White and the Seven Dwarves territory! Needless to stay, I slept well that night.

Tuesday night, Shelby and I took off to catch the sunset at a random Metro stop. We circled the city, got some great photos, saw the sunset of a lifetime, held hands to "My Heart Will Go On" being played on the accordion, and I finally tried the pulpo (octopus) at Mercado San Miguel! It had a very tuna flavor and wasn't as weird of texture as I expected- 9/10 would recommend if! (The other guy was an octopus). (That wasn't funny at all, sorry).

Wednesday was another meandering day- Maggie and I walked from around 4pm-7:30pm. We walked across the river to the lake and I think I may have to stop back for dinner by the lake! Thursday night we went out to a few different places. We met some students from OSU and sang way too many American songs for a night in Madrid, but it was a good time! Friday I had some very good tacos at a restaurant that my professor recommended and had MORE gelato. I tell you, I spend more on gelato than anything else. 2 euros for a souvenir that will last a life time? Let me think it over. 3 euros for the smallest serving of gelato you've ever seen? Give me 2, and one to go.

Finally, today is Saturday, and we spend the whole day in Segovia. Segovia has probably been my favorite trip so far- the grand architecture on top of the magnificent views was a photographer's paradise. I had some pork (regular pork, even though the suckling baby pig is the specialty of the area). We climbed way too many stairs to get to the top of the castle, but the views were breathtaking. Tomorrow we're going on a REAL hiking trip, mountains and packed lunches and all, and I can't wait. You'd think I'd be sleeping like a baby with all of this walking and hiking, but waking up in a puddle of my own sweat is hindering that a little bit. But who can complain, I'm in Madrid baby!

6 days and I'll be in Dublin, Ireland! Still can't believe that this is MY LIFE.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page